Properly Balanced

A properly packed box is well balanced. It isn’t too heavy or too light. One side isn’t heavier than the other. You have to put the larger and heavier items on the bottom and then fill in with smaller items in the cracks and on top. Fragile items require extra care in placement and wrapping.

The right size box also makes all the difference. If you pack books in too large of boxes then they’re too heavy to move, too small and you need a million of them. Medium size boxes are generally my favorite because they are small enough to be handled by one person but large enough to actually be useful.

Life isn’t to different from packing. It has to be balanced. Too much work and life is no fun. Too much fun and financial stability falls by the wayside. I remember when I was in school at Baylor that they stressed balance my freshman year. We were supposed to maintain a balance between our academic, social, physical, and spiritual lives.

It didn’t work very well at school for me. Not in the beginning. I was very focused on academics. And most of my friends were only that for my study guides. Since finishing grad school and starting work I’ve developed a better balance. I love my work, but I take time for my friends and myself. I work out semi-regularly to maintain physical fitness. Finally, I take time for God. From praying to going to church or bible study, I try to set aside time.

Balance is such a funny thing. Too much of one item or to little of another can cause explosions in labs and meltdowns in life. It’s such a fine line, but it’s totally worth walking.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

