Counting Down

One day down…

Today was the first day of my piano class. It went better then I thought it might. I showed up this morning and the keyboards they had for me were miniature ones – three full octaves spanning four c’s. I panicked. But it all worked out. I just changed locations to have us use the piano studios. And did a lot of running between rooms. Only four days left.

4 days until…

One of my best friends from college is visiting! She has a wedding and then is spending part of the weekend with me! Which is good because of one of the numbers below.

13 days until…

I host my mom’s birthday party. I’m cooking coconut shrimp with apricot mango sauce and making a turtle cheesecake. My mom has hosted just about every family dinner for as long as I can remember. Including her own birthday many times. Last year my sister and I took her to dinner. This year I want to cook it for her. Partly because I’m leaving and partly because she cooks all of our special dinners with no complaints. She’s amazing. And I want to return what little that I can.

17 days until…

I meet B’s parents. And his brothers. And his sister. I’m not sure I’ve ever been more excited or more nervous. Evidently there are lots of plans being made…such as his dad wants to take me out to play air soft to his mom wanting to take me shopping. I’m a little nervous that a retired FBI agent wants to take me out and shoot at me with his USAF cadet and officer sons…

I really want to make a good impression. I want these people to like me. I want to get along with them. Now, I know that there’s no guarantee with the family of significant other’s…but, I really, really want us to get along.

32 days until…

I load up a trailer attached to the back of my cute little HHR. And drive the 25-27 hours to my new home. I’m so excited. I’m so terrified. I’m leaving everything and everyone I know. For the one person who is the world to me.

Where has the time gone? Where is it going? It’s flying away. Especially when it’s broken up by teaching classes, seeing friends, visiting B’s family, and all of that.

Here comes another plea from me. I really want to see you. All of you. I’m leaving the state very soon and possibly the country shortly after that. Let’s not let this time slip sway too quickly.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Family, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

