Cleaning Up and Cleaning Out

I woke up in a seriously blah mood today. Like seriously blah. I woke up to a text from a parent that my only lesson today wasn’t coming. And I went back to sleep after that. The next time I woke up was when my alarm went off. It was quickly followed by a phone call surrounding some difficulties at the job that ended back before Memorial Day.

But I did not want to get up. At all. I just had no energy and I no longer had anything planned for the day. Have you noticed how exhausting to have nothing to do? It kills me. I cannot stand it. Having no energy and no plans, I did the only thing I could think of. I got up and went for a walk and then started planning a very busy day.

While cooling down from my walk I started cleaning out my closet. I have way too many clothes. (Okay, I know that Sunny is going to remind me that her daughter has more clothes than I do, but, I have more clothes in there then I wear regularly, so in my opinion, that’s too many clothes.) In particular I have more clothes than I’m willing to pack and move all over. So, yeah, I got rid of three trash bags full of clothes. Two are going to GoodWill and the third is just trashed out clothes. I’m so happy. Seriously I got a huge endorphin rush from cleaning out my clothes. I’m not sure what that says about me…if you are, keep it to yourself unless it’s really complimentary.

Well, since I was already in a cleaning out mood and I had decided that I was going to go home in the evening to spend it with my family. (Top Chef: DC premier!) I decided to also pack up the books that I was going to leave at home with my family. Mostly some YA books that I want to keep for the future, but don’t want to move with me right now. Well, while I was doing that I started grabbing books that I don’t actually like at all. I ended up with two and a half bags of books and half a bag of dvds. Those went straight to Half Price to be sold.

At this point I drove out to where my mom works and stole her away for some shopping. Because nothing is better than some retail therapy. I picked out some cute outfits for July. When I’m meeting B’s parents. And brothers. And sister. All at once. For a week. There may be some anxiety over this meeting. But, I now have a cute outfit to fly in, a cute dress to wear to dinner, and another cute shirt that’s fun and dressy. And again the retail therapy works.

Overall I feel like I made a good turn around on today. Because, from today’s start it would have been easy to stay on the couch all day. And then I would have gone back to bed feeling as bad as when I got up. Instead, I exercised, cleaned, and got stuff ready for packing. Plus some shopping and spending the evening with my family. It’s been a good day!

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cleaning Up and Cleaning Out

  1. Sunny says:

    Countess!

    Only you could turn blahness in to get-‘r-done-ness.

    This was my favorite line, which made me laugh out loud: “I’m not sure what that says about me…if you are, keep it to yourself unless it’s really complimentary.”
    HAHAHAHAHA!

    I’m so proud of you…you amaze me. :)

    I love you and I’m sorry I didn’t feel up to going on the roadtrip. I hope that you have fun shopping and I can’t wait to go to the zoo with you tomorrow! W00T!

    ~Sunny

Leave a Reply

