Appearances

Appearances can be deceiving.

Don’t judge a book by it’s cover.

Beauty is only skin deep.

There are so many proverbs and sayings warning against judging based on appearances. Those listed above are just off the top of my head. But we’ve all had it said to us, some of us have even said it. You can only glean so much from someone by looking at their life. How many times have you heard that before judging you should walk a mile in someone’s shoes.

I’ve heard it said that one shouldn’t even pray for a person unless one has cried for them. I’m not even going to get in to the issue of judging as that’s a whole other post.

Now, I get that my decision tomove to ND to be with B. is raising eyebrows. I get that it’s causing talk and all that. But, if you are really concerned about me, call me and ask for my story before you just judge me. And when you ask, listen to me. Remember that you know who I am. Or, if you really think so little of me, then know that you never really knew me at all.

I recently caught a close relative asking my mom how they could pray for me. Not in a kind way either. My mom later told me that she just told them to pray for guidance for me as always. And that God would bless me. She also told me that her answer wasn’t the one they were looking for. They wanted her to ask for prayer that I would change my mind. Not happening folks. At all.

I’ve essentially been told by people that I can’t ask for God’s blessing on my endeavor because I’m going outside his will by moving in with B. That God would never bless something that even appears to contradict his will.

Because pregnant, unwed, teenagers virgins are not at all contradictary to God’s laws and will. Oops, there goes Mary…

Because everyone totally thought the cross fit right in with God’s plan…a stumbling block for the Jews and foolishness to the Greek. Nope, no blessings from God on the cross…

I’m not trying to elevate myself to the level of Mary or the cross. But what I am saying is this: neither of those looked like they were within God’s will or plan. At all. And yet they were.

I truly believe that I am fully in accordance with God’s plan for my life. I don’t see any other option but to move to ND, at least, not if I want to stay with B. And, because of our circumstances, yes, I’m moving in with him. I’m not going to hide it. I’m not ashamed of this. Even if it does cause talk. I just wish it would cause people to talk to me and really listen. Instead of gossiping about me, praying at me, and spewing rather hurtful advice.

If you know me, talk to me and trust me. If you don’t know me then get to know me and trust me. Or, at the very least, trust Christ in me. Or keep your opinion to yourself and quit gossiping about me.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts, Family, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Appearances

  1. Sunny says:

    Amen!
    My favorite line: “trust Christ in me.” What a sweet reminder. Even if you’re rejected by those who “care” about you, Christ is always there for you.
    Love it.
    Love you.
    So very proud of you.

    Love, Ever and Always,

    ~Sunny

  2. myobi says:

    Hey. Breathe easy.

    I love you and will always love you. The family members acting like this have acted like this towards EVERYONE who goes “astray.”

    Are you doing the way things I would do them? I dunno. I can’t say. To be honest, if I weren’t lucky enough to be in the relationship I’m in, I probably wouldn’t be in a relationship at all. Trust in God and follow Him and your heart. =)

Leave a Reply

