Things I Know

Every now and then, when life becomes uncertain, I find it helpful to remind myself of the things I know.These are the things that I hold onto no matter how happy or sad I am, regardless of the light or dark surrounding me. They are indelible facts about me that define who I am.

  • I am loved. I am a beloved child of God, my parents love me, my boyfriend loves me, and my friends love me. The security that I draw from this love is possibly the strongest blanket that I could possibly wrap myself in. These are people that I know will always love me, no matter what. Their love for me isn’t dependent on anything that I do. It simply is. And I love them in the same way.
  • I will always find solace in music. It is an outpouring of my heart, an aural impression of the color of my soul. It is a celebration of my joy when I am happy, an elegie of my sorrow when I am sad. Even as it expresses my emotions, it contains it – organizing, strengthening, purifying it. The music dances from within me – sometimes a carefree jig, sometimes a stately processional, and every now and then a somber funeral march – to carry my soul out into the world. It returns to me through delicate strains, seeping into my consciousness to flood my senses with warmth, light, darkness, a cool whisper, a violent gale. There is nothing imaginable that cannot be spoken through music. It is both a universal language reaching out to touch people everywhere and perhaps the most intense form of personal expression possible.
  • I can always come home. It’s amazing to have a place where you know, that no matter what happens in life, you can return to to be grounded. In The House That Built Me, Miranda Lambert sings of going home to find herself.  Where she has attached a meaning to the physical location though, I am just starting to learn that home is more about a feeling and the people than the location. I know, that no matter where they are, my parents will always be my home. No matter where B. and I move, we will be home because we will be together. That security of having a home, is what gives me the courage to leave. Without the support of the people I love, I imagine that I would be fearful to ever strike out or take any risks. Strange that having a home is what enables me to leave it.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things I Know

  1. Sunny says:

    Beautiful, love.
    Thank you for sharing.
    Miss you.
    ~Sunny

  2. ~L says:

    You and I think alike:) I love the way you expressed how you feel about music! You are a talented writer for sure:) Home is where the heart is! I am learning that myself.

Leave a Reply

