25 at 25

Well, since today was my 25th, and Sunny asked me to do a 25 things that make me tick meme, I figured I’d go ahead and do it. So here are 25 things that make my world go around at 25.

  1. I am a believer in God, Jesus Christ, and the Holy Spirit. I say this rather than that I am a Christian, because, I actually have a lot of issues with mainstream Christianity. Mostly, that it seems to be made up of a bunch of hypocrites who are all about the rules, rather than about love and grace. I’m a love and grace kind of girl.
  2. I am a Texas girl, born and bred. I love my home state. The people here are friendly, caring, and armed to the teeth. I can’t believe that I’m voluntarily leaving at the end of the year.
  3. I am a huge people person. I destress, decompress, and relax by being around people. I love seeing the folks I grew up with who know me inside and out. I love making new friends and learning their stories. When I am down, there really is nothing that can cheer me up as quickly as just being with other people.
  4. I’m not all that fond of movies. I mean, I enjoy watching them in small groups, as long as we can still talk and laugh. But, I actually hate it when people just want to get together and sit quietly and watch a movie.
  5. I am a professional musician. I teach music lessons, perform, and accompany. Music is in my soul. Sometimes it comes pouring out into compositions. Most of the time it stays in the indistinct form of improvisations. I play the piano, fiddle, guitar, hammer dulcimer, mountain dulcimer, banjo, bowed psaltry, and sing. I may be missing something in that list too. I love music.
  6. On the other side of that, when I listen to music for fun – I hate paying attention to it. I want it to be background music. Barely there.
  7. I’m a huge multi-tasker. I used to work on writing papers while also watching a tv show, chatting on gchat, and either texting or talking on the phone. And I could keep track perfectly of what was going on with all of it. I actually have a hard time only doing one thing at a time. Like, driving. I have to have music playing, and I prefer to be on the phone too.
  8. I was raised with the belief that if you are on time you are late and if you are early than you’re on time. I am perpetually early. And never late. I despise being late. It hurts me to my core to be late. It also bugs me when others are late. Especially when they don’t bother to let me know that they are running late. It’s one of those things that I have to work to let go of.
  9. I love to read. In my opinion there is nothing better than losing oneself in a good book. I’ll read pretty much anything too. I’m also a ridiculously fast reader. As in, I read the final Harry Potter book in under two hours. The first time my mom assigned a reading to me – a chapter book when I was in the 3rd or 4th grade – I was supposed to read two chapters. I came back in less than half an hour and had read the whole thing. She told me that was impossible and proceeded to ask me questions from every chapter. I didn’t miss one. She quit assigning readings after that and just left me to my own devices.
  10. I forget very little. I have an irritatingly accurate memory for details. I don’t forget things. Say something to me and I’ll remember it years later including the circumstances of what we were doing. My friends use this to their advantage in asking me where they left something. I just notice things and remember. It can be a liability in that it can be hard for me to forget when someone hurts me. I remember exactly how I felt when it happened, even years later. That’s something I’ve had to work on. Mostly though, it’s a party trick. Ask the Countess what was said by whom six months ago and she can tell you.
  11. I can’t draw a straight line to save my life. Honestly. If I was told to draw a straight line or get shot, I’d just ask for the gun.
  12. Speaking of guns, I love to shoot them. They’re fun. They go boom.
  13. I am a registered Civil War Reenactor. I go dress up in pretty dresses, play fiddle, and listen to the cannons go boom. All while teaching history one battle and one song at a time.
  14. I’m addicted to my iPhone. Enough said.
  15. I have one publication – my thesis – that I don’t even own a copy of. It was too expensive for me to purchase. It’s about social dance music during the Civil War.
  16. I do not consider myself to be a good musican, or a good writer.
  17. I do pride myself on being a good friend. I decided once to be the kind of friend that I would want to have. Now, this has often let me down. I do things for people that they would never dream of doing for me. They ask me to do things that they would never offer to do for me. But, I will do it because that is what the friend I would want to have would do for me. Many people see this as me letting myself be taken advantage of, but, it isn’t. It’s me giving of myself. What people choose to do with that gift is up to them, not me.
  18. There are a handful of people in this world that I would give my life for. My parents and siblings, Sunny and her family, Sharon, and B. Each of them has claim to a part of me that can never be revoked. I will always drop everything to be there for them. Always.
  19. My parents are my rock. They have always supported my decisions, they raised me to be an independent thinker and to challenge conventions. Luckily, they’re crazy supportive now that I’m doing that. Even as I’m making plans to move in with my boyfriend, they understand my logic and will defend me to anyone who dares to lecture me. My mom has revoked the right of anyone else to lecture me on it, seeing as she hasn’t. And, she tells me constantly that if they would just ask and listen to my story and reason, they would understand my decisions. Between her and my dad’s support, I could take on the world.
  20. My friends mean the world to me. They cheer me up when I am down. They handle my brand of crazy with grace and fortitude. Each one offers a different unique perspective to life. They are all priceless to me.
  21. I really like big words. They are fun to say and use. I think my favorite word may be facetious. Both because I am and because the vowels appear in alphabetical order in it.
  22. I am slightly obsessed with sports. Maybe more than slightly. In order I prefer College Baseball, Pro baseball, College basketball, College football, pro football, pro basketball, tennis, and then golf.
  23. As much as I love sports, I’m pretty terribly uncoordinated. I can hit a soft-pitched ball with a bat. I can play frisbee. I’m embarrassingly bad with racket sports. I’m working on changing that as B. likes to play racquetball. He gave me one lesson while I was up there. And, well, yeah, it was funny. In a humiliating way. So, I’m trying to get better before I move up there.
  24. My life is in limbo right now. I’m moving somewhere this summer. It’ll be wherever B. is. We just aren’t sure where that is yet.
  25. B. He’s my light. My life. He has my heart and has for quite some time. We have so many things in common that it’s scary sometimes. I love him with all that I am. I will follow him anywhere.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 25 at 25

  1. Sunny says:

    Number 12…HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!!!

    I would list another number that made me tear up, but there were two many of them.

    But for number 18…same here. I love you, girl.

    This was a BLAST reading! Thank you so much for doing the meme (I had to google that to find out what it was…hehe), and I’m sorry I didn’t have a computer or phone to leave you a reply on your bday, but…I guess you take it in stride, just like all my other annoying habits!

    Love you!

    ~Sunny

Leave a Reply

