Addiction

I think I have a new addiction. The good news is that I think it might be good for me. The better news is that it won’t last too much longer, hopefully. I’ve become addicted to making payments on my credit card. Yes, you read that right. At the end of April I decided to try and pay off my credit card completely by the end of this summer. I’ve been sitting about $200 below my limit for the past couple of years. And yes, you read that right too. All I’ve been doing is making my monthly minimum payment and hoping for the best for the last couple of years. At most I would pay an extra 20-30 bucks. No dent was made in paying off the debt. It just kept the monthly finance charge from ever going over the maximum balance.

Paying it off was one of those foreign ideas. An eventuality that I hoped to hit sometime down the road when I was earning more money, had steadier work, etc. Something I’ve come to realize in the past few months though, is that I have to make the most of the life I’ve been given now. Not later. That, and if I keep putting things off I’ll never get any of it done. This shift in attitude has led me to being in a serious long-distance relationship. It’s also led me to start working out regularly and get back to blogging.

At the beginning of this year, I was making payments on three different credit cards. After I was a few days late on a payment due to forgetting when it was due, I decided to pay both of the smaller, store cards off. At once. I sort of shocked myself with that. The only reason I let myself keep the two cards was because I could earn reward points by using it. I just pay it off immediately. Not go home and transfer the money immediately, but rather, make a purchase on the card, turn around and hand the clerk my debit card and pay off the balance immediately. It’s been a great feeling to cut down on the number of monthly bills that I pay.

Then there was my credit card. I’ve had this card since I was eighteen. I’ve put gas, text books, ill-advised clothing purchases, and so much more on this card. There were times in between semesters of grad school and between graduating and working that this card was the only money I had. Only, it wasn’t my money. The debt, however, is mine. I owe quite a bit on this card. But, for the first time in a long time, I see the light at the end of paying it off. For one thing, I haven’t used the card to make a purchase in just this side of forever. But mainly, I’m just enjoying paying it off. I’m putting large chunks of money towards it, and that feels really good. I mean, I get giddy every time I make a payment on it.

Here’s hoping I can turn this addiction into a debt-free style of living. That idea really suits me.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

