Goals

I’ve always been kinda funny about setting goals. I’m kinda instant gratification as far as that goes. I don’t like goals set at New Year’s because I’m of the opinion that they are doomed to fail. People make big sweeping changes in their lives – multiple ones all at once – and are then surprised when they don’t succeed with any of them.

When I was working on my thesis, I had to tell my advisor at the beginning of every week what was getting turned in that week.  That worked so much better for me than trying to tell him at the beginning of the semester how all of that was going to go. It worked well for me too, as I had an immediate deadline. Goals like that work well for me. It’s the general, non-specific, no fixed schedule ones that I don’t ever make.

Some of my goals for May and for this summer:

1. Complete the 30 Day Shred – I should be able to do that in May. I started last week and then took the weekend off – but today is the 3rd and I’m on day 3. I may not quite make it from being out of town – or, I’ll take it with me when I travel and subject others to it too. I’ve never done a program like this with a specified amount of time that one should move through it. I’m pretty excited. I’m also using this as part of the May challenge from http://www.theshredheads.com to exercise every day in the month of May. Should be fun. I’ll keep you updated as I go along.

2. Be able to work out with my boyfriend and his men at the end of May. This directly relates to the above goal. It’s the reason I set the above goal. Because I oh so intelligently told my Air Force lieutenant boyfriend that I would be delighted to work out with him and his men while I’m up there on vacation. Now I have to make sure I won’t make a fool out of my self…

3. Pay off my credit card. I’m tired of being in debt. So, I’m really tightening up my belt to see how much I can pay off this summer. It’s kinda a game for me – the more I pay off the happier I am. If my summer gig goes as well as it should, then I won’t have any problem at all with it. Even if it doesn’t. The goal is to be out from under that debt before the next school year starts.

Those are my three goals. Two to be accomplished by the end of this month and one by the end of the summer. Immediate and achievable. Here goes nothing!

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in 30 Day Shred, Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

