Exercise

What an awful word. People react so strongly to it. Most commonly I hear, “I hate to exercise but I know I need to,” or, “exercising sucks,” or some variation of those. I actually don’t mind exercising. Even if I prefer to call it working out. I had good friends that I would go walking/jogging/running with in Houston. I miss them. And our trails that we would walk/jog/run on. Since I don’t have that here in San Antonio, I have had to figure out what to substitute for it. I’ve tried quite a few different things.

I tried just walking the neighborhoods that I live in/near, but that isn’t my favorite option when I have to wait until after dark. Especially since I go alone. Factor in the weather to my ability to go and I wasn’t getting any exercise done. I also tried the workout room at my apartment complex, but, I hate running on a treadmill. It just doesn’t seem right…

So I switched to workout videos. Now, I know me – I need a thirty minute routine – so I need something pretty darn effective in that amount of time that is also fun so that I don’t get bored. I started with Carmen Electra’s Aerobic Striptease routines. No worries – they’re totally family friendly. And, I could see some results – I felt more toned – but, I wasn’t working up a sweat at all. And, it just felt like I wasn’t actually working for any of it.

Then my mom and sister started raving about Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred. My curiosity got the best of me. So did my big mouth. I told my boyfriend that I would work out with him and his platoon during the week I’m spending with him at the start of June. What was I thinking? So, I decided to give the thirty day shred a try. I’ve decided that I’m going to blog about it at least periodically as I go through the thirty days. Mostly to motivate me to not quit. Also to give me something to blog about.

Now I’m not trying to lose any crazy amounts of weight. Or really, any at all. Like most women, I think that I could stand to lose ten-ish pounds, but, that’s life. My goal is to get in shape. I want to be able to workout with my boyfriend and his men without embarrassing him or me. And, I know that if I tone what I have, well then, who cares about the number on the scale?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

