New Year’s Resolutions

I’ve never been very good at making resolutions. I generally think that any changes that need to be made should be made throughout the year and not saved for the first of every year. I prefer to solve problems as they come up rather than let them accrue until the end of the year. It’s so much easier, to me, to do it that way. The pressure of having all these changes in January is just one I’d rather avoid. It seems to me that January resolutions turn into February guilt-trips and March failures. None of which is my cup of tea. I despise guilt trips and don’t allow failure, so, I tend to not make any resolutions to begin with. That way, I don’t feel guilty about not doing them and I don’t have to worry about failing at them.

However, I did make a resolution this year. It’s kind of a two-part thing.

First, I’ve determined that work will not be the highlight of my week. I don’t have to worry about dreading work anymore, because I love it so much. But, I don’t want to be in the position of not wanting to go home at the end of the day or week. I want to have fun weekends and evenings. Whether through seeking more opportunities to go out in the evening or making more plans for the weekend I want to take full advantage of life.

Essentially, I got into a funk back in October after moving into my own place, where, I was lonely and I wanted that solved, but I didn’t want to be the one to have to solve it. I’m over that now. And I’ve decided that I am responsible for myself having fun. No one else. And life is too short to mope around. I’m trying to put that energy into planning fun things.

And the second part of that is, I’ve determined to travel more. Whether it’s a weekend trip to Houston or Montgomery, or longer trips to places further away, I want to get out of town. I want to go see friends and make fun memories. And not get stuck in the rut of being bored in town by myself for the weekend. I’ve always loved traveling and right now is the best time for me to do so. I don’t have any kids to consider while making plans right now. And, my boyfriend is long distance – making traveling necessary and fun. Essentially, I’ve decided that there will never be a better time for me to take planned and impromptu trips to wherever. So I’m going to do it.

And that’s as close to resolutions as I’m getting.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Family, Friends, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

