Retreat

Starting tomorrow I’ll be house-sitting for my pastor and his wife. I’m looking forward to it. Today, when she called me to arrange my coming out to see the house, she mentioned that I should bring my Bible and my journal and just search for the Lord and use this time as a ten-day retreat. I’ve decided to do that. I bought a journal today – it’s leather and has vines embroidered on it. It reminded me of John 15:5 – “I am the vine and you are the branches; he who abides in Me and I in him, he bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing.”

Anyways, I’m going to be taking this time to re-establish my relationship with God. I’ve let it falter during these hard times. I think I’ve hidden from Him, because I’ve been uncomfortable with where I’ve been. And, now I know that I can’t get out of here without Him. That I need Him to carry me through. I’m ready to open back up. So, I’m going on a mini-retreat. I’ll have my own house, my own dog, and plenty of peace for searching.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

