Imagination

When I was little I used to make decisions based on what I could imagine myself doing. If I couldn’t imagine a situation happening then I assumed that it never would. Now, I had a very vivid and active imagination, but this was still limiting because I had a hard time imagining things outside of my current life experiences. It was often about silly little things, like whether I would go to camp or not or if I would always be friends with certain people.  As I’ve gotten older, my life experiences have broadened and so have my expectations for myself. But, I still sometimes limit myself by what I can imagine myself doing.

Just a couple of months ago I was staring at a blank page on my computer screen and I tried to imagine what it would be like to be finished with my thesis. I couldn’t do it. I had no idea what it would feel like on the far side. Of course, at that moment I couldn’t even figure out how I was going to write my thesis, which made it harm to visualize being finished with it. And here I am now, on the other side. My thesis has been approved to go before the committee. And now, I can’t quite imagine being done and graduated, but, I really can.

I guess, the point of this is that we should never let our own minds limit us. Our imaginations are supposed to help us go beyond ourselves, yet I often find myself still limited by myself. I can’t imagine anything better than what I currently have, so I have a hard time trusting that God has better things in store for me. This is especially true in terms of relationships for me. And yet, I don’t want to limit myself based only on what I know.

So, dream free. Imagine the world with all it’s possibilities. And open yourself to the idea that God wants better for us than our greatest imaginations.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Imagination

  1. Jen says:

    my response is YES – this entry made me think of is 55:9 and eph 3:20 =)

Leave a Reply

