Endurance

I’ve never run a marathon. I’ve tried to train to run a half-marathon, but haven’t even succeeded at that. But, I do like to run and try to run three miles three times a week. I prefer to pulse run interjected with walking. Everytime I’m in the middle of a running segment I have to set a goal to run to something that is far away, but that I can still see. My attitude about my ability to keep running is directly proportional to my being able to see my goal. And, everytime I go running my endurance is a little bit better – I can run a bit further, a bit longer, a bit faster. Every run still feels like its going to kill me, but I’m learning that the only way to build my endurance is to keep running.

Endurance.

Writing my thesis is a lot like running a marathon I think. Every mile completed in a marathon is something to be celebrated, and yet, you immeadiately upon completion of a mile, you are faced with the necessity of completing the next mile. And then the next one. And then the next one. For 26.2 miles. It’s the same thing with a thesis or dissertation. The completion of every chapter, typically anywhere from 5-15 pages, is worthy of celebration, and indeed, is often the length of a term paper in its own right. And yet, as soon as each chapter is completed the next one is looming, waiting to be written. There is literally no rest for the weary. Not until the marathon is over. Not until the thesis is submitted.

Endurance.

And that’s where the endurance comes in. Because, the hard part isn’t starting a marathon or starting a thesis. It isn’t really even in finishing them. At the finish there are accolades and praise. It’s the middle that’s the tough part. In the middle, every accomplishment is celebrated by taking the next step, by writing the next word. It starts to tear you down, wear you down. You feel as if you just can’t take any more. But, what choice do you have? You’re finishing a thesis. A marathon. But, here’s the thing. The end is in sight. It always is. The final mileage number never changes. The due date is constantly looming, but not as something to be feared, no, the due date is a friend. It offers the comfort of being finished.

Endurance.

Sure, this hurts right now. Sure I really wish I could stop. Just like I wish I could stop running sometimes. But, if I keep running, if I keep writing, then I will know the sense of accomplishment that comes with finishing.

Endurance.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life, Thesis and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Endurance

  1. Jen says:

    love this!!!

Leave a Reply

