Further Proof

In case the previous posts weren’t warning enough, some interactions with friends today proved that my thesis really is causing me to go insane. Three vignettes from my afternoon.

Vignette 1

(Setting: Rice University Blue on Gray scrimmage. (It is important to note here that Rice’s colors are meant to represent the Union and Confederate colors from the Civil War) Subject: Questionable calls by the ump, aka a coach in favor of the Gray team while they are pitching.)

Friend One: Are you serious? Ahem. What? Those are some liberal calls ump.

Me: Isn’t the ump calling liberal calls in favor of the South a kinda antithetical?

Friends One and Two: *Silence*

Friend One: Is the ump calling liberal calls in favor of the South antithetical?

Me: You know, the South is generally cast as being conservative, liberal calls?

Friends One and Two: *Silence*

Me: I’ve been working on my thesis too much.

Friends One and Two: Yep.

Vignette 2

(Setting: Same baseball practice.)

Friend One (to me with the sun setting behind me): These sunglasses are so good, I can look right at you.

Me: Really? That’s strange, because I can see your eyes.

Friend Two: Your glasses aren’t reflective? Now a girl is going to know if you’re looking at her or checking out another girl.

Friend One: *Taking off glasses to see if he can see through them* Really? You can see my eyes?

Me: Yep. I can see that you have blue eyes on.

Friend One: Blue eyes on?

Me: Shut up. Thesis. (As if this is an excuse against anything I say being utterly stupid.)

Vignette 3

(Setting: Me driving to a friend’s house to work on my thesis. Friends Three and Four call)

Friend Three: So, Four and I have come up with a name for your thesis.

Me: A name?

Friend Three: Yeah, you know since it’s taking up all your time, so we can refer to it by name.

Me: Okay, what is it?

Friend Three: Well, we wanted it to apply to your topic. And, since it’s kinda killing you slowly. We named it “Wilke.”

Me: You named my thesis after the guy who killed President Lincoln?

Friend Three: Yep.

Friend Four: (in the background) Supposedly killed Lincoln. And I helped.

All of this combines to be incontrovertible proof of my further descent into madness.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Friends, Life, School, Sports, Thesis and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Further Proof

  1. Jennifer says:

    I’ll love you even once you go mad. :-* Especially since I probably helped.

Leave a Reply

