A desert place

I’m standing in the middle of a desert. A dry and barren land. As far as my eye can see, there is nothing but cracked, parched earth. There are no trees, no cacti, no shade. Not even a blade of grass to seek shade under. Or a catepillar to eat said blade of grass. Just dirt, sand, and dry blistering winds.

I’m completely alone. Loneliness is a part of the desert. Being alone. Feeling alone.In the desert, one learns to understand the barrenness. To accept the solitude.

In this,I have hope. Believing in the Wellspring of Living Water, I do not fear a lack of water.Rain at the end of a drought means more than rain after a flood. My barren soul rejoices in the water from the Lord.

Believing in a triune God, three in one, I do not fear solitude. Instead, I understand that the desert and all that it represents is a learning opportunity. A directional shift in life. It should not be feared. But rather, embraced.

I’m standing in the middle of a desert. And I am in awe of the unobstructed sunset. The beauty takes away my breath. And as I journey to the edge of the desert, I find that what I’ve learned here will forever color the rest of my life.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

