The blessed gift of oxygen

I had a major allergy attack last night. You have to understand that I really don’t have allergies. I might get a handful of sinus headaches in a whole year all while living in the allergy capital of the world. (At least, that’s how most people feel about Texas) I’m not allergic to any animals or any food. I’m really very “lucky” that way. I can only remember two allergy attacks in my whole life. One was last night and one was when I was a teenager.

First, the experience from early high school happened at a piano competition. I was at lunch with my family and started sneezing. I was literally sneezing for thirty minutes  straight. I’m sure that it was a miserable experience. But I don’t remember being concerned with the simple ability to take a breath.

Last night I questioned if I was going to be able to keep breathing. I was just going to bed and my throat dried up and I started coughing. And coughing. My eyes were streaming and I wasn’t getting enough oxygen. Every half breath prompted a long coughing spat. I took twe benadryl at one in the morning. About two hours later I woke up again unable to breathe. I despaired at first. And then took another benadryl. I was coughing hard enough during these spells that I almost threw up. After taking the medecine I could feel the placebo effect seeping in as I immeadiately calmed. But I would lay there holding my breath, afraid to set off another spell. I feel like I got a tiny glimpse of what folks with asthma deal with all the time. I have truly taken the gift of oxygen for granted before today. Not anymore. It is a simple and blessed gift.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

