Le Tombeau

A tombeau is a musical tombstone. It is a tribute. An ode. Traditionally the tombeau did not contain expressive elements of mourning, although they would use omnapoetic devices symbolizing fate knocking or the soul transcending into heaven. All of the modern tombeaus are modeled after Baroque or earlier time periods style characteristics.

My piano teacher passed away on Saturday night. I found out on Sunday. I’ve been trying to process this knowledge all this week. It’s not that her death was unexpected. Far from it, she’s been fighting cancer for the last three years. And yet, it still hurts so bad. I wouldn’t be where I am or who I am today without this woman. She shaped my musical life and through that my life path. I want to teach music because of the love of music that she instilled in me.

I only hope that my life can be a living ode to her memory. I will never forget her or anything she taught me.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Le Tombeau

  1. Sharon Wellman says:

    Sweetie, why didn’t you tell me????????????

  2. Sarah says:

    kendra, i’m so sorry. i wish i was giving you a big hug right now. i promise i will do so at the first opportunity.

Leave a Reply

