Tis the Season: Chocolate Bread Pudding with Amaretto Sauce

I’m hoping to make the Tis the Season category a recipe category highlighting my favorite Holiday recipes. I’m going to kick it off with a new favorite.

Chocolate Bread Pudding with Amaretto Sauce

This is a recipe my Mom brought back from a cooking class in Cuero. It’s become an instant hit with family and friends. I’m trying it out tonight on my friends for the first time. I’ll let you know how they respond to it.

Ingredients

1 Loaf French Bread

1 1/2 cups Semi-sweet chocolate chips

6 eggs

1 qt. Half and Half

6 Tbsp Unsweetened Cocoa

1 Tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

1 Tbsp vanilla

4 Tbsp Unsalted butter

4 Tbsp Dark brown Sugar

100_1092

Take your loaf of French Bread and tear it up into a pan that has been greased. Cover it with the chocolate chips.

100_1093

Mix the eggs, half and half, and vanilla in one bowl. Combine the sugar, cocoa, cinnamon, and last in another. Slowly combine the two, mixing well.Pour over the cake.

100_1107

Bake at 350 degrees for 1 hour.

100_1101

Remove from the oven and dot with butter and top with the brown sugar. Put it back into the oven for five minutes, until the butter has melted and the brown sugar is saturated.

100_1108

Remove and cool slightly before serving. Your cake is now done and awaits it’s hard sauce.

Ingredients

3 cups Sugar

1 stick melted butter (unsalted)

2 Eggs

12 oz can Evaporated Milk

2 Tsp Vanilla

Amaretto (or Kahlua)

Combine all ingredients except vanilla and Amaretto in a saucepan before it is placed on the heat and stir well.

100_10941

Once it is well mixed, turn on the heat to medium-low and stir constantly. It will begin to boil and thicken. Remove from heat.

100_1095

Add Vanilla and Amaretto. I use just slightly less than 1/2 cup of Amaretto in my sauce.

100_1096

Pour into a bowl, cover, and place in the fridge to cool.

Serve the cake with the hard sauce over it. Enjoy!

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Food, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tis the Season: Chocolate Bread Pudding with Amaretto Sauce

  1. abrandnewcolony says:

    As soon as I saw the word “amaretto” I knew this was going to be delicious…I hope I can pull off this recipe!

  2. Jennifer says:

    This is sooo good! I’m so lucky to have you here to serve me wonderful desserts at my desk.

Leave a Reply

