I don’t like Ike

Well, actually I kind of do. But as I sit here watching waves already breaching the seawall in Galveston and reading the forecasts I kind of am not a fan. I called my mom this morning and she is not a happy camper. I know that she is wishing that I had come home, but when I had to make that decision they were still in the path of the storm. By the time it shifted to Houston it was pretty much too late to leave. And as she fusses about me not letting my car get flooded I know that she’s just transferring her fear of what might happen to me to the car. And I don’t like Ike for that.

There is a serious possibility of losing power for quite a while, for loss of life and property. The potential damage is intense. For now though, I am safe, dry, and just hanging out. Time will tell. By this time tomorrow it will have made landfall. And we’ll see how bad Ike is.

My friend Jenn just summed it up by saying that this is kind of exciting and scary at the same time. It is. If you pray, then please do so for all the people in the path of the storm. And yes, right now that includes me. God Bless!

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I don’t like Ike

  1. Jennifer says:

    It is exciting and scary. I hope everyone makes it through the storm ok and that those fires die down. And I’m thankful that you and I are safe. :-* Love ya!

Leave a Reply

