When I grow up…

I still don’t know what I want to be.

I caught up with one of the other grad students in musicology tonight and we had a good discussion about the definitions of our fields and all of the prefixes and suffixes that can be attached to musicology…like historical, systematic, ethno, bio, socio, zoo, (no I didn’t make that up) and how wide and difficult it can be to define it. We shared some good laughs about how we both are not “traditional” musicologists in that we are not thrilled/interested in analyzing musical scores. We both would rather look at the cultural impact…and things like that.

But this conversation led unerringly to what is coming next. And I’m just not sure what I want to do after I finish this. I came straight in to my masters from my bachelors and part of me wants to take some time off. I’d like to take the opportunity to teach music history and know that this is what I want to do before I make the commitment to a PhD. And I’d also like to just teach regular music lessons too.

Whatever I end up doing and where ever I end up doing it I know that it will be an adventure. And while I don’t know what’s going to happen I’m not worrying about it…or stressing about it, rather I’m just pondering now. I know and trust that God is in control. And I’m excited about living it one day at a time. Life is just too much fun to rush through or even worry through.

And, you know, I’ll grow up eventually…I think.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts, Life, School. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When I grow up…

  1. Jennifer says:

    I’m going to go all Peter Pan on you right now:

    I won’t grow up,
    (I won’t grow up)
    I don’t want to go to school.
    (I don’t want to go to school)
    Just to learn to be a parrot,
    (Just to learn to be a parrot)
    And recite a silly rule.
    (And recite a silly rule)
    If growing up means
    It would be beneath my dignity to climb a tree,
    I’ll never grow up, never grow up, never grow up
    Not me!
    Not I,
    Not me!
    Not me!
    I won’t grow up,
    (I won’t grow up)
    I don’t want to wear a tie.
    (I don’t want to wear a tie)
    And a serious expression
    (And a serious expression)
    In the middle of July.
    (In the middle of July)
    And if it means I must prepare
    To shoulder burdens with a worried air,

    I’ll never grow up, never grow up, never grow up
    Not me,
    Not I,
    Not me!
    So there!
    Never gonna be a man,
    I won’t!
    Like to see somebody try
    And make me.
    Anyone who wants to try
    And make me turn into a man,
    Catch me if you can.
    I won’t grow up.
    Not a penny will I pinch.
    I will never grow a mustache,
    Or a fraction of an inch.
    ‘Cause growing up is awfuller
    Than all the awful things that ever were.
    I’ll never grow up, never grow up, never grow up,
    No sir,
    Not I,
    Not me,
    So there!

    I won’t grow up!
    (I won’t grow up)
    I will never even try
    (I will never even try)
    I will do what Peter tells me
    (I will do what Peter tells me)
    And I’ll never ask him why
    (And I’ll never ask him why)

    We won’t grow up!
    (We won’t grow up)
    We will never grow a day
    (We will never grow a day)
    And if someone tries to make it
    (And if someone tries to make it)
    We will simply run away
    (We will simply run away)

    I won’t grow up!
    (I won’t grow up)
    No, I promise that I won’t
    (No, I promise that I won’t)
    I will stay a boy forever
    (I will stay a boy forever)
    And be banished if I don’t!
    (And be banished if I don’t)

    And Never Land will always be
    The home of beauty and joy
    And neverty
    I’ll never grow up, never grow up, never grow up
    Not me!
    Not me!
    Not me!
    Not me!
    No sir!
    Not me!

Leave a Reply

