Simple Pleasures

I made banana nut muffins tonight. And then ate some of them for dinner. And eating the raw dough and then the cooked muffins reminded me of all the simple pleasures in life. One of which is definitely eating uncooked batter. So often I get so caught up in going and doing that I forget how wonderful just stopping and enjoying normal things is.

I’m definitely a goer. I love being out and about and on the move. I rarely like to be home with nothing to do. I’m always up for leaving my house to go hang out with people, and yet, today has been wonderful. I’ve been home alone all day and I have to admit I’ve really enjoyed myself. Not to say that I wouldn’t jump at the chance to head out and do something, but I have had a good day.

I’m learning that it’s not really healthy to let my happiness be dictated by what I’m doing or whether or not I have anyone to do things with. I tend to be that way. I typically detest evenings at home alone to be a waste. I don’t like them at all. But I am learning to. I’m learning to cherish the quiet evenings in addition to the nights out.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts, Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

