Hold up, wait a minute…

Where, oh where, did the time go? How is it possible that school starts in two and a half weeks? I feel like summer just snuck off, without telling me it was leaving. Which is a very uncool thing to do. And now I’m rushing headlong for my last year of school. Crazy. It’s been a fun summer though…and this next school year is shaping up to be pretty awesome too!

Summer fun:

  • All the Rice baseball games as we closed an awesome season and kicked off the summer.
  • Two weddings – one family and the other a close friend – both good reasons for traveling and seeing folks.
  • Having friends in town – Sharon and Amy both came in to town and it was awesome to get to see them.
  • Crazy roadtrips – the preplanned ones to the Hill Country for tubing and to the beach at Galveston and the last minute one to Austin that was super crazy and fun!
  • And a hurricane and a tropical storm…even if all’s we got was some rain.

It’s been a good summer and I will miss it, but there’s so much to look forward to this school year too:

  • TAing again – yes, I’m actually looking forward to guiding the sophmores through Baroque music history.
  • Classes starting – I’m only taking three – American music, Brahms, and Renaissance history. My lightest class load since I started college.
  • Football season…yeah, I know Rice isn’t that good, but I like football.
  • Basketball…see above.
  • Starting my thesis. This is it. The culmination of my graduate career.
  • AMS convention in Nashville.

So, it should be a good year. I’m not sure what all it holds, but I’m looking forward to finding out.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts, Life, School, Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

