Run, Countess, Run

Today’s news flash: I decided on Monday that I’m going to run a half-marathon in January. And, since, all of the guides I’ve looked at so far say that to be successful you have to tell people, I’m telling you. I told my mom and some of my other friends and family on Monday. I just think it would be fun. Okay, there are many more reasons then my thinking that it will be fun to run 13.1 miles in January. All of the guides I read said that the runner needed two things beyond physical capability to run a marathon: support and motivation.

Let’s start with the physical capability. I can currently jog/walk three miles in 42 minutes. Which means I’m currently managing about a 14 minute mile. Not great, but not bad. It would translate into just over three hours (183 minutes) for a half-marathon. By October I need to actually be able to run those three miles straight, not just jog/walk them. I feel like I should also note that this latest timing came while out on Monday…during which time I was talking on the cell phone while exercising. Anyways, I’m not at all worried about the physical aspect.

As far as support goes, well, no one is poo-pooing my decision to run a half-marathon. And, I have a friend that I’m going to do the official training with. Another friend of ours thinks she will run the half-marathon, but she doesn’t want to do the training. Once October and training comes around I’m sure that I’ll be relying on my friend who is in it with me to keep me going. Other than that, I think I’ll post regular updates about how many miles I’m covering in a week, what my times are, that kind of thing, as a tool for accountability.

Which brings us to motivation. One guy recommends really digging deep for your answers, saying that you have to be really motivated to be able to complete a half-marathon. But I’m going to start with what comes to me first and work my way down.

1. I really think it will be fun. And a chance to bond with my friend who is doing this with me. It also gives me something to check off the do at least once in my life list. I realize that this isn’t a grand reason, and it isn’t meant to be. It’s just that I think it will be fun to be able to run 13.1 miles in a single go.

2. I would like to get in better shape then I am. I’m really lucky that I’m tall and fairly lean, but I’m really not in good shape at all. I used to be able to do two Tae-Kwan-Do classes and one Tae-bo class a day, but that would really kill me now. And running/jogging became a therapeutic stress reliever for me during my undergrad. (This was actually listed as the worst reason to run a marathon on one site I was at…well, it’s correlary really, losing weight)

3. I’m not dong this to change the world. I’m not doing it to provoke others into a reaction of some kind. I’m doing it for me. Because I want to. But the most important thing for you to know about me is that I’m not a quitter. So now that everyone and their dog can potentially know that I am doing this, well, let’s face it. I can’t exactly back out now…can I?

Come along for the ride. It should be interesting. I’m sure there will be good days when I love doing it and bad days when I hate myself for this decision. But, really, isn’t that what life is about? Let’s take the ups and downs together.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Entertainment, Family, Friends, Random, Sports. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Run, Countess, Run

  1. Jennifer says:

    Finding those people who want to take the ups and downs with you is a truly special thing. I’m glad I have you with me. On my side. :-p

Leave a Reply

