Greetings, Felicitations, and Gossip

Welcome to my court. This isn’t my first rodeo, or my first blog, however it is the only one I plan on maintaining from here on out. So those of you who know me under various pseudonyms and at other blog sites had best remember this one. I have no real goal for blogging – this isn’t a themed blog about music, movies, books, politics, social issues, religion,  going-ons in my life, school, family, or anything else. It will however, probably be a combination of all of the above. It is nothing more or less than my thoughts.  Which means it will probably ramble.

My goal is to keep this blog more active than I’ve kept most in the past, which should be easy since I spend more time at a computer/desk now than I did previously. I reserve the right to blog about whatever I choose and to do so whenever I choose. I will not be consulting anyone, professional or otherwise, in my decision making paradigm. I’m out to have fun and share that fun with myself on the internet.

I think that covers the greetings/felictations section of this post, which leads us to the gossip. Today’s gossip is going to cover how I got my nickname as the Countess. Because all good nicknames should have a progression and a story. This past January I started hanging out at a new church – Christ the King (CTK) – as part of moving to Houston. Some of the guys there are very nickname oriented and immeadiately started working on a nickname for me. This is hampered by the fact that neither my first or middle names lend themselves to being shortened. So they started calling me by my last name – Wharton. And those of you who are good Texans know that Wharton is a county here in our great state. Which led to my being called County. When I started to object to being called County, I don’t know, it had cheap insinuations, one of the guys decided to call me the Countess.

As a nickname its more of one that is referred to than used. Very rarely does anyone call me Countess, but they will refer to me in third person as the Countess. So, when I decided to start blogging I decided to use my non-nickname nickname. That’s all for right now, I think I’m going to actually try and get some work done before lunch.

 ~ The Countess ~

About texancountess

I find myself in the calming roar of the sea, floating gently on the foam of the breaking waves. Blue. Green. Gray. The colors of the sea mark the boundaries of my soul. The tumbled glass finds its polish under the relentless pounding of the waves upon the shore. Thus am I. Rough transitioning to polish, refinement ever a process, finding my niche in the storms of life.
This entry was posted in Random and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Greetings, Felicitations, and Gossip

  1. Jennifer says:

    Yay! I’m so glad you’ve jumped back into blogging. I can’t wait to hear what the Countess has to say.

  2. added you to my RSS reader and to my wordpress blogroll. :D

  3. Will says:

    Keep up the good work, K-bizzle!

Leave a Reply

