Weekly Wishes

Last week was an odd-duck of a week. Work was mostly good, though it made me cry on Friday and, of course, due to HIPAA, I can’t even talk about why. I didn’t like how helpless I felt in the situation though. This weekend was good though, involving a lazy Friday night and a productive Saturday that ended with dinner at a new friend’s house.

One of the topics of discussion that night was career progression. Not surprising when out of the four couples, three of the guys are military and three of the girls are, or are in the process of becoming, nurses. I definitely felt like the odd duck out as the hospital scheduler. The conversation made me realize a lot of things, some of which I should really blog about, but mostly that 1) I don’t like the idea of turning my back on my education and passion for music 2) I want to have work that makes me excited and inspired. Basically, I’m back at the drawing board, looking into educational opportunities, and kicking myself for not having been smarter about this earlier. But, I can’t go back and change the past, I  can only continue on toward the future.

More will come on this as I hear back from the feelers I’ve put out and make a concrete decision on something. Right now I’m afraid of waffling and then looking foolish – which also deserves a blog post of its own. For now, I’m excited by the possibilities.

Reflections – Lows:

Friday at work. It was an emergent situation. My hands were tied by administrative tape. I came home and bawled.

Feeling inadequate over my job situation. It’s hard having a master’s and working an entry level position. The surprise in people’s voices when they learn my education back ground is hard to swallow.

Realizing that I care entirely too much about what other people think. This needs some more digging on my part, but my assumed thoughts of what others think of me dictate way too much of my happiness.

Reflections – Highs:

Dinner with new friends/acquaintances where they invited us over. We’ve only ever had two friends to reciprocate invitations on a regular basis over our four years of marriage. And never this early on into making friends.

Taking the puppies to the dog park yesterday. It was locked up because the river next to it is out of its banks, but we still went and let them play in the water and chase their ball. They enjoyed the run and we enjoyed them being worn out from it all.

We ordered and received our photo book guest book for our weddinged celebration. I put in pictures of us from all our travels over the last few years and included quotes from our favorite songs. It hasn’t even been signed and I could still just sit and sigh over it.

Being successful in eating healthier and working out. I dropped a not-insignificant number of pounds over the week, and more importantly kept them off over the weekend. I feel so much better and am riding a strong wave of motivation for continuing forward with the healthier eating and working out.

Intentions:

Continue researching my secret project for future employment/career opportunities. I need to get my ducks in a row on this one and am hopeful that the holiday week won’t set me back too much in it.

Stick with my better eating and work out at least 5 times. Two weeks to the BIL’s wedding and while I’m much happier about my body after just the last week, I still have some goals to attain. There’s no magic or secret, other than finding what works and sticking with it.

Cut myself some slack. Mostly in regards to feeling underemployed struggling with feelings of being less worthy as a result.

What’s on tap for you this week?

About texancountess

I am a displaced Texan, a pseudo-expatriate, and a military wife. I teach piano to fill my days and listen to cop talk to fill my nights. I went from living in Texas for the first 25 years of my life to adding North Dakota, Germany, and Turkey to lists of places called home in less than three years. I am blessed to be married to and spoiled by the love of my life.
This entry was posted in Weekly Wishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Weekly Wishes

  1. Army Amy says:

    While I was working my library job, I really struggled with feeling insecure about having an hourly job despite my education. It was definitely in my head. I know that I don’t think less of other people that work hourly jobs and I admired my coworkers, most of whom also had college degrees. Still, underemployment sucks and it can make you feel bad, even if you’re doing something you love. Good luck as you figure out the direction you want your career to go!

  2. Onyi says:

    Miss you ♥

  3. Vanessa says:

    I understand where you are coming from re: your career. I’ve been doing a ton of soul searching and planning with regards to my work over the past few weeks. I’ve been beating myself up over all of the “shoulda, coulda, wouldas”, but in the end all I can really do is try to be brave and push forward with what I think will make me happy in the long term. We only get one life, right? May as well make the best of it. Good luck in your planning!

Leave a Reply

