Weekly Wishes

We watched Edge of Tomorrow over the weekend and my big question is – if you had the power to control time and reset life to a certain point to try and get it right, would you take it? I can’t think of anything major I would want to reset or maybe it’s that I’m not willing to live through certain things again just to try to improve them on a second go around. Would you take that chance?

Reflections – Lows:

Saying goodbye to my Mom on Monday morning and knowing that it will be a couple of months before I get to see her again – and that only for all too brief of a weekend.

Our neighbors complaining about our dogs barking. I definitely understand that would be annoying, but telling us they didn’t want to complain and then launching into a ten minute complaint was not the right way to go about it. Also, their chief complaint is that our dogs bark at the patio window…which they do mostly when those neighbors and their unleashed dog are outside, because their dog comes up to our patio.

Getting back some no responses that I had expected to be yes responses based on interactions with the people. That one stung.

Reflections – Highs:

B coming home. It was not an easy 12 days with him away. But he came home and that part was amazing.

Having a chill weekend with B where we still managed to see two movies, buy new curtains, and spend way too many hours playing video games.

Intentions:

Make it to the gym four times this week. I made it three times last week and would like to just keep increasing that number.

Get the boxes B brought home from Texas unpacked. I really can’t stand having the extra clutter created by boxes, so I want these put away by next weekend.

Grab a snack at work no more than two times this week. The week he was gone I fell into the bad habit of grabbing a snack each day and that definitely needs to come to a stop.

What’s on tap for you this week?

About texancountess

I am a displaced Texan, a pseudo-expatriate, and a military wife. I teach piano to fill my days and listen to cop talk to fill my nights. I went from living in Texas for the first 25 years of my life to adding North Dakota, Germany, and Turkey to lists of places called home in less than three years. I am blessed to be married to and spoiled by the love of my life.
This entry was posted in Weekly Wishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Weekly Wishes

  1. Army Amy says:

    Did y’all like Edge of Tomorrow? I’m thinking about seeing it, but I can’t decide if it looks awesome or awful. Haha!

    I like that you regularly re-commit to fitness each week. I think that’s a good way to do it without getting overwhelmed. Take it a week at a time.

    • I thought Edge of Tomorrow was fantastic. It’s definitely my front runner for favorite movie of the year thus far. :)

      Thanks! I figured out some time ago that I don’t do well committing to months at a time of something, but that telling myself each week to go to the gym I can do. Even when the result is the same, the mental landscaping is totally different. It’s easy to hit the gym four times in a week and nowhere near as scary as going sixteen times in a month.

  2. Vanessa says:

    I wasn’t planning to see Edge of Tomorrow, but I’ve heard nothing but good things so far! I might just have to give it a shot.

Leave a Reply

