Weekly Wishes

Man what a weekend. We had gorgeous weather on both Friday and Saturday and took full advantage with two trips to the dog park and a day out hiking with the puppies. They were super spoiled. We also launched into reading/working out way through the Gottman Institute’s Seven Principles for Making Marriage Work.

Now, there’s nothing wrong with our marriage. In fact, I actually think we have a really strong relationship, but, even in good relationships, a little effort goes a long way. Which means we’re working out way through it, laughing, and just that little act makes me happier.

One thing we read about in the first couple of chapters were “resets” which are when couples are heading down the fighting path and one of them attempts to make reparations and right the deteriorating situation. It can be everything from verbally saying you’re sorry to sticking out your tongue or otherwise diffusing the situation. The book says that repeated failed resets can be a sign of a relationship in trouble. I guess, lucky for us, we’re good at resets. We just verbally ask if we can reset and then we drop the subject and go on. I’m excited to see what else we learn about.

Reflections – Lows:

My knees have been slightly sore this week from working out. It’s making it really hard to get the motivation to hit the gym as I can’t really run on the treadmill and I hate doing anything else for cardio.

My weight took a strange uptick accompanied by bloating to start the week. Since my birth control causes me to not have periods, I’m not sure if this is a hormonal thing or what. But it’s a crappy thing. And as the uptick came after actually starting to work out again, it is especially frustrating.

Reflections – Highs:

Reintroducing sushi Sundays to our lives. It is so much fun to just go have a leisurely lunch on Sunday with B and eat some Sushi. It’s the perfect way for us to start the week.

Having three good days this weekend for getting out and going. We hit the dog park on Friday, a State Park on Saturday, and then the dog park again on Sunday. I also ran three miles without stopping for the first time in my life on Sunday. It’s like I’m a real runner now or something.

Receiving a couple of patient surveys from my supervisors that mentioned me by name as being helpful! Not bad for only one full week of work. I’m not sure why the others complain about handing out surveys, as no one can say something nice about you if you don’t hand them out.

Intentions:

It’s currently Tuesday evening and I’ve worked out three days this week. My goal is to go two more times this work week (tomorrow and Thursday) and then have Friday-Saturday be my weekend. I’m also currently making plans for some healthier eating for at least my breakfasts and lunches.

Finish addressing the invitations. I’m almost half way through them and since the goal is to get them in the mail by the weekend, I need to stay on top of it. This is the last big tedious task though and I really want to make my deadline.

Take advantage of the nice weather we have planned for this weekend. Be it going out hiking again, taking the dogs out for walks or to the dog park, or hitting the gun range, I want to be outside this weekend. This is the first week where we’re projected to have more than two days of somewhat Spring like weather.

What’s on tap for you this week?

 

About texancountess

I am a displaced Texan, a pseudo-expatriate, and a military wife. I teach piano to fill my days and listen to cop talk to fill my nights. I went from living in Texas for the first 25 years of my life to adding North Dakota, Germany, and Turkey to lists of places called home in less than three years. I am blessed to be married to and spoiled by the love of my life.
This entry was posted in Weekly Wishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekly Wishes

  1. Army Amy says:

    I picked up that Gottman book a few years back after someone suggested it in the comments of APW. It’s really good! I agree with you, it’s just smarts to be proactive about building and maintaining a strong relationship with your partner. We’ve even gone to counseling before. It has only ever helped us.

    I also want to say that it sounds like you are in a really good place right now. I don’t know if it’s your job or where y’all or living, but you just sound good!

Leave a Reply

