Weekly Wishes

I really should take a picture of the chaos around me. Our living room is currently boasting the patio table, four patio chairs, four folding chairs, three coolers, a stack of nine board games, three tubs of electronics related wires, one tub of mementos, six paintings, and a plethora of sports equipment on top of the normal furniture and living room accessories. Hi, we’re moving and things are beyond chaotic.

Yesterday we went through all our paperwork, cleaned out two closets, the store room, and all desk/bedside table drawers. At one point, in the middle of it all, B suggested we go to the gym, I snapped about it but went. Ninety minutes later and I felt somewhat human again. We even managed to make it through cooking dinner last night before calling it quits on organizing.

Today we’ve cleaned out our bedroom closets, packed three of our four suitcases, relocated non moving items to safe locations, and gotten everything but the kitchen and final electronics items ready to ship. I don’t think we’ll make it to the gym for a break today, but we’re so close now that anticipation alone will get us through. Tomorrow brings the movers and the onset of full chaos for three days before we settle into relative peace for our last few weeks here.

Reflection – Lows:

Definitely the stress from moving. I’m short tempered, not sleeping well, and just stressed out. There’s been so much that we need to do, but it’s really hard to do it until right before. Then there’s the whole living in utter chaos with items everywhere, which I loathe, and everything you do to further the prepacking process only makes the chaos worse. I should be at roughly 72 hours until this is all over.

Reflection – Highs:

Realizing that I’m addicted to the gym. I both physically and mentally ache to go. On the physical side, it makes sense because I’m doing about seventy minutes of cardio paired with twenty minutes of lifting every day. Of course my muscles are stiffer when I don’t get there on time. But the mental? This week has made me aware of how much that time helps to reset my attitude. I can go tired and grumpy and not pleasant to be around and magically I leave with more energy and in a greatly improved mood. Every time.

Reaching the point where we can actually say that the movers are coming tomorrow. This day has been a long time coming. I’ve written a lot here about how hard this base has been and honestly, there’s been a lot more that I didn’t write about. Needless to say, this has been the base from hell and we’re so proud of ourselves for making it out alive and still married.

Intentions:

Not go crazy while the movers are here. We’re taking steps to mitigate the stress – we’ve got a lot of easy to heat up, no cooking necessary meal items; I’m cooking and prepping up food today before we unend our kitchen; I’ll still be taking the dogs for walks and we’ll still be hitting the gym. Hopefully all of this will help keep me sane.

That’s honestly it. It encompasses eating as well as possible and working out when I can. The theme of this week is survival and I’m okay with that.

What’s on tap for you this week?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I am a displaced Texan, a pseudo-expatriate, and a military wife. I teach piano to fill my days and listen to cop talk to fill my nights. I went from living in Texas for the first 25 years of my life to adding North Dakota, Germany, and Turkey to lists of places called home in less than three years. I am blessed to be married to and spoiled by the love of my life.
This entry was posted in Weekly Wishes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Weekly Wishes

  1. Army Amy says:

    I never would have thought to gym it up in the middle of packing, but the more I think about it, the more I think it’s genius. What a great way to de-stress. I’m going to file that in the back of my mind for next year. Good luck with the movers!

Leave a Reply

