Two-aught-one-four

*I totally looked up the usage of “aught” in my title before using it. While, aught actually means all or anything and not zero, standard practice uses it for the pronunciation of zero in regard to years. At least according to Wikipedia and that’s good enough for me.*

I’ve been thinking a lot about what I want 2014 to look like or be. What do I want to manifest this year? What do I want to accomplish? Where do I want to be at the end of this year?

There’s the easy list of the big things that are happening this year:

  • Moving to ND from Turkey
  • Taking a continuing education course and switching careers
  • Having a getting weddinged ceremony
  • B finishing his Masters
  • Buying a car

Nothing on that list is up in the air. All of these things are happening; with the most tenuous item being my career change. Otherwise? Everything is on schedule to occur.

I even have an easy list of things I don’t want to repeat from years past:

  • Don’t hate where I live
  • Don’t start counting down to when we leave the next location as soon as we arrive
  • Don’t treat ND as just a transition

But there are extenuating circumstances that are working against me. So much is up in the air. This whole force shaping means that we aren’t guaranteed another year in the AF. Which means that rather than look for a nicer place to live, we’ll probably look for a smaller place in order to save money for just in case. Now, instead of not thinking of ND as a transition, I’m trying to embrace that. Trying to embrace the mentality of knowing that it is temporary and making the most of it.

There’s the standard list of self improvements that come with every year:

  • Lose weight
  • Get in shape
  • Visit new places
  • Save money
  • Read more

But again, most of these are built in to what we have planned. I’ve already established a new work out routine that will be staying with me untouched until we move. After that, it will be adapted for our next location. We’re moving to a new country (I mean, it’s old since it’s where we’re from, but it isn’t where we’re living now) and will have easy access to new places that we’ve never been before. Saving and reading are a regular part of what we do.

Which leaves me wondering what I want from 2014.

I want to be happy. I want to enjoy life. I want to relish long walks with our puppies, weekend camping trips, cross country road trips (have two planned in the first three months of the year), and just revel in reintegrating into the US culture. I want to enjoy our wedding ceremony and I want to enjoy the rest of the planning process. I want to take risks and try and not be afraid to fail. I want to live life as fully as possible. Even if we’re waiting for the other shoe to drop, even if we’re waiting to see what the rest of forever looks like, even if we’re still stuck in transition. I want to make the most of it. I want to make the best of it.

That’s what I want from 2014. I want the best it has to offer me. I don’t want to miss anything because I wasn’t looking, trying, or reaching for the stars. I want to live life, no holds barred, as fully as I possibly can.

What do you want from the next year?

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I am a displaced Texan, a pseudo-expatriate, and a military wife. I teach piano to fill my days and listen to cop talk to fill my nights. I went from living in Texas for the first 25 years of my life to adding North Dakota, Germany, and Turkey to lists of places called home in less than three years. I am blessed to be married to and spoiled by the love of my life.
This entry was posted in Getting Weddinged, Life, Turkey and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Two-aught-one-four

  1. Army Amy says:

    I can really relate to your “things not to do this year” list. It’s really easy to fall into the trap of hating everything about where you live (especially when you know it’s temporary). But where does that get you? I’ve made a big effort to make the most of life in El Paso, and I think it’s paying off. I’ve enjoyed myself more than I expected to and I can’t believe how quickly our time here is flying by.

Leave a Reply

