I should be cleaning…

I should be cleaning, dusting, organizing items for pack out, taking pictures off the wall, putting the vacuum back together. I should be sweeping, taking down curtains, and going through old boxes. I should be planning what to pack in my suitcase for living with for the next four weeks, finding the cords to the laptop that I’ll revert to using, downloading chrome so B can use my laptop. I should be; but I’m not, instead…

…I went to the gym for a second time today. My morning session was cut short thanks to it taking twenty minutes to get Loki into his travel crate. I think he must have bad memories of it from the first time around. So I went back so I could finish my cardio. I need that time to just not think, sweat, destress, and gain those happy endorphins.

…I cooked an actual lunch for us. We’re trying to get better about eating at home. I’d say we’re having a roughly 50% success rate. As long as nothing throws our day off, we do pretty well at sticking to the plan. The first sign of trouble typically sends us running to food out. We both associate it with comfort and use it to escape the negative energies often found in this home.

…I took my puppies for a long walk. They’re not liking all the change. They can tell something is up. It’s only going to get worse before it gets better too. We’ve entered the PCS period and we won’t be settled or back to normal until some time in March. That’s a long time for these guys to have extra stress, so I’m trying to mitigate that by taking extra good care of them.

…Reading everyone’s resolutions. I love my format of setting weekly goals, but I also want to think about big goals for the overall year that I’d like to accomplish. I just need to get through next week first. Not that it’s an excuse for slacking off from anything else.

…Acknowledging that I’m stressed. Cleaning makes it real. Cleaning means that I’m about to have to live with minimal belongings for a few months. Cleaning means I have to finish saying goodbye to the few people I do like here. Cleaning means I have to think about working on my resume and searching for a job. Not cleaning doesn’t relieve the stress though, it just delays it and adds to it.

Here goes nothing, I’m going to go start cleaning now.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I am a displaced Texan, a pseudo-expatriate, and a military wife. I teach piano to fill my days and listen to cop talk to fill my nights. I went from living in Texas for the first 25 years of my life to adding North Dakota, Germany, and Turkey to lists of places called home in less than three years. I am blessed to be married to and spoiled by the love of my life.
This entry was posted in Life, Turkey and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I should be cleaning…

  1. Army Amy says:

    Good luck cleaning, and moving, and staying as stress-free as possible! It sucks while you are in the middle of it, but the PCS will be here and gone before you know it.

    • Thanks! My big issue is that I keep cleaning things and the house keeps getting messier. I guess that’s the way it goes when you’re moving. T-minus three days until the movers come and the chaos can finally begin to end.

Leave a Reply

