Hail and Welcome July

Hail July and well met! Your coming has been long anticipated and is welcomed in readily. You bring much with you that is greatly desired and has been long waited for. You are not without your challenges, but they shall be met and conquered one day at a time. I look forward to your coming and will bring my best to meet you each day as it comes.

I am excited about your Grand Entrance July, you will find me in Prague, having a lazy Sunday taking in twisty buildings, Czech beers, and as many sites as I can in as relaxing a manner as possible. You come in the midst of a reunion with a dear friend and an exploration of a new location. I cannot express how much I need this girl’s weekend July. I haven’t had a good one, truly and honestly, since I moved away from Texas in 2010. So I will greet you heartily, at least, so long as I am not hungover.

You also bring with you the start of my work. Just a few sweet days in, I shall be sworn in and ushered into training before being released to work. I am thrilled with the start of this new chapter in my life. Thrilled to the closing of my unemployment. I have been waiting for this start for so long that I cannot be anything but grateful to you, July, for ushering it in.

Perhaps though, what you bring that both B and I are most excited about, is our dear friend. He’s indubitably going to need a nickname, but none comes to mind at the moment. He signed our wedding certificate and stood on my side as a witness when we were married. He was there the night we met and was instrumental in keeping my cousin from leaving too early. His coming, like yours July, has been highly awaited.

But you are not without your challenges, your difficulties July. You bring with you some things that make me dread your coming, dread being in Prague on this lazy Sunday, dread facing each and every night. See, with you, B goes to nights for work. His shift will begin mid afternoon and run until the wee hours of the morning. Last time, it wasn’t that hard, I just waited up for him, slept in with him, and led a nocturnal existence too. This time, that isn’t an option. This time, I won’t come home from my trip until after he has started his first night of work. And first thing the next morning? When he’s sleeping away his night? I will be getting up, slipping out, and going to work on my own. By the time I am home, he will be gone to work again. And so that cycle will go for the entire month. I will work a day shift while he works nights. Our moments together during the week will be limited to my lunch breaks and his homecoming at said wee hours, because I am such a light sleeper that he cannot help but wake me up. This July, almost makes me wish you weren’t coming. Or at least, that you could have spread things out a bit. But no, my trip, his start on nights, and my start of work all have to come at the beginning of you.

I know, July, that you will pass, as all months do. I know too, that we will get through whatever hardships may arise. I am hopeful that your balance of what to anticipate will out-weigh the heartache of every lonely night that you will bring.

Hail July, and well met.

~The Countess~

About texancountess

I am a displaced Texan, a pseudo-expatriate, and a military wife. I teach piano to fill my days and listen to cop talk to fill my nights. I went from living in Texas for the first 25 years of my life to adding North Dakota, Germany, and Turkey to lists of places called home in less than three years. I am blessed to be married to and spoiled by the love of my life.
This entry was posted in Deep Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hail and Welcome July

  1. Stereo says:

    I can’t imagine how hard it must be being on opposite schedules. I know that you and B will make it work though and I hope you’re having fun on your vacation, love!

Leave a Reply

